BCCE 2014 Organizing Committee

General Chair
Sherril Soman
Grand Valley State University
somans@gvsu.edu

Program Chair
Julie Henderleiter
Grand Valley State University
henderlj@gvsu.edu

Exhibition/Sponsors Chair
Robert Smart
Grand Valley State University
smart@gvsu.edu

Workshop Chair
Stephanie Schaertel
Grand Valley State University
schaerts@gvsu.edu

General Papers Chair
Jessica VandenPlas
Grand Valley State University
vandenpj@gvsu.edu

General Posters Chairs
Ellen Yezierski
Miami University
yeziere@miamioh.edu

Jessica VandenPlas
Grand Valley State University
vandenpj@gvsu.edu

2YC3 Program Chair
Tom Neils
Grand Rapids Community College
tneils@grcc.edu

Publicity Chair
Tom Pentecost
Grand Valley State University
pentecot@gvsu.edu

Site Management/Local Arrangements
Sandra Bacon
Grand Valley State University
bacons@gvsu.edu

Mary Ann Sheline
Grand Valley State University
shelinem@gvsu.edu

Pre-College Program Chair
Alice Putti
Jension High School
aputti31@yahoo.com

Webmasters
Mary Karpen
Grand Valley State University
karpenm@gvsu.edu

Chris Lawrence
Grand Valley State University
lawrechi@gvsu.edu

Registration
Tracy VanderMeer
Grand Connection
tracy@grandconnection.com

Christina Thelen
Grand Connection
Christina@grandconnection.com

Administrative Support
Janet VanRhee
Grand Valley State University
vanrheej@gvsu.edu

Volunteer Coordinator
Diane Miller
Grand Valley State University
milledia@gvsu.edu

P704: Online delivery of concept-rich OB labs

Author: Mary Karpen, Grand Valley State University, USA

Co-Author: Nathan Barrows and Harvey Nikkel, Grand Valley State University, USA

Date: 8/6/14

Time: 11:10 AM11:30 AM

Room: LOH 164

Related Symposium: S41

Teaching both organic and biochemistry in one semester is challenging, and students need ample opportunities to engage with the material for deeper learning to take place. We have developed and implemented several concept-rich laboratories for a one semester organic and biochemistry course at Grand Valley State University. Our laboratories are designed to reinforce concepts learned in lecture. In addition, we coded several of these labs into WebAssign, an online homework system. The laboratory manual is part of this system, with students inputting data and drawing conclusions via the online interface. Feedback for conceptual questions and data representations (approximate values, units, significant figures) is given immediately. We find the online, instant feedback prompts students to ask questions of the instructor and clear up misconceptions during the laboratory. In this presentation, we will describe our labs, demonstrate the online system, and present results from both student and instructor feedback.